Annual Awards for Animal Services Presented

Oct 1, 2010

COG Animal Services Committee Chairman Rodney Taylor welcomes nominees and attendees to COG's 6th Annual Animal Services Awards.

Nancy Perry, Vice President of Government Affairs at the Humane Society of the United States gives remarks at the Awards ceremony.

Emcee Liz Crenshaw of WRC News 4 begins the Awards presentation.

Photographs of award winners with Chairman Taylor appear below:

The Winners Of The 2009 Volunteer Of The Year Award: Virginia and Randolph Jones, Prince George’s County Animal Management Group

Winners of the 2009 Administrative Customer Services Award: Donna Levesque and Angela Joynt, Loudoun County Animal Care and Control’s administrative team

The Prince William County Animal Caretaker Team won the 2009 Animal Care Award

The Winner of the 2009 Leadership Award: Adrienne Burton, Loudoun County Animal Care & Control

The 2009 Veterinarian of the Year Award recipient: Dr. Valerie Campbell and Staff, Blue Ridge Veterinary Associates (Dr. Valerie Campbell not pictured, award received on her behalf)

The 2009 Humane Education Award winners: Michelle Hankins, Community Outreach Program Manager and Volunteers, Chris Kopp and Susan Spaulding, Fairfax County Animal Shelter (Karen Diviney, Shelter Director, pictured)

Washington, D.C. Firefighters Rodney Taylor (left) and Christopher Holmes were the ceremony's special guests and provided attendees with an overview of the duties and talents of their canine partners, Dozen and Cazo respectively.

The Winner of the 2009 Wildlife Advocacy/Rescue/Rehab Award: Erika Yeary, Wildlife Bunch Wildlife Rehabilitation

The winner of the 2009 Adoption Award: Jamie Scotto and the Cat Adoption Team at the Washington Animal Rescue League

Animal Rescue Story of 2009 Winners: Officers Edwin Owens and Shawn Covington, Washington Humane Society

The 2009 Animal Control / Humane Officer Award Winner: Officer Jessica McLemore, Fairfax County Animal Services Division (Office McLemore not pictured, award received on her behalf)

The 2009 Community Impact Award Winners: Mary Jarvis and the Project Rescue Team of the Washington Animal Rescue League

Karen Diviney, Director of the Fairfax County Animal Shelter gives closing remarks to winners, nominees, and attendees.

Back to news

Related News

  • Annual Meeting 2016

    Three takeaways from the 2016 COG Annual Meeting

    December 21, 2016

    The COG annual membership meeting on December 14 provided area leaders with an opportunity to focus on major regional initiatives, such as efforts to restore...

  • News

    Geldart, Schwartz presented with COG award for regional leadership

    December 20, 2016

    COG’s Ronald F. Kirby Award for Collaborative Leadership was presented to two regional leaders, the District of Columbia's Homeland Security and Emergency...

  • News

    Tony Costa and GSA's FedScape team receive COG Regional Partnership Award

    December 20, 2016

    COG honored Tony Costa, the Senior Advisor to the Administrator of the U.S. General Services Administration (GSA), and GSA’s FedScape team for their work...