News Release

Former NTSB Chair Christopher Hart elected Chairman, Metrorail Safety Commission

Mar 27, 2018

Note: Press release on behalf of the Metrorail Safety Commission.

The Metrorail Safety Commission (MSC) today elected as its Chairman Christopher A. Hart, who served as Chairman of the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) in the Obama administration.

The election of officers came at the commission’s second meeting, along with other steps to firmly establish the body as an independent entity to oversee the safety of Metro and move toward certification by the Federal Transit Administration (FTA).

Mark V. Rosenker of Virginia, another former NTSB Chairman who served under President George W. Bush and eight months during President Obama’s first term, was elected the MSC Vice Chairman.

“It’s a privilege and an honor to have the opportunity to help improve the safety of our metro system, of which I am a rider,” Chairman Hart said.  “I look forward to drawing from my extensive safety experience at the NTSB to help our region’s Metro system.”

Vice Chairman Rosenker added, “I look forward to working with my colleagues on this new commission to help raise the bar of safety for this very important mode of transportation that serves so many residents and visitors to the National Capital Region.”

The dual officer role of MSC Secretary-Treasurer will be filled by Debra Farrar-Dyke, senior transportation and administration professional from Maryland.

At today’s meeting, the MSC also discussed the hiring process for candidates to serve as the commission’s Executive Director, reviewed the steps necessary to achieve the body’s official certification by the FTA, and agreed to other administrative steps to establish the commission. The MSC’s next meeting is scheduled for April 10.

MORE: Metrorail Safety Commission marks new milestone

Contact: Jeanne Saddler
Phone: (202) 962-3250
Back to news

Related News

  • king_street_metro_flickr_Michael_Tyznik

    Commuter Connections helps commuters during Metro shutdown

    May 22, 2019

    Commuters impacted by the shutdown of six Yellow and Blue line stations from May 25 until September 8, 2019 can access tools and resources offered by Commuter...

  • Metro_Trains_Station-72dpi

    Washington Metrorail Safety Commission receives FTA certification

    March 18, 2019

    COG assisted the jurisdictions and the FTA in establishing the commission through wide-ranging legal, technical, and administrative staff support.