About Us

Corporate Officers

The COG Corporation is an independent, nonprofit association. Policies are set through three independent policy boards: the COG Board of Directors, the National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board, and the Metropolitan Washington Air Quality Committee. Supporting policy, technical, and advisory committees help shape programs through the dedicated work of a wide array of public servants, from police chiefs to social workers.

COG’s Membership is comprised of elected officials from local governments, the Maryland and Virginia state legislatures, and U.S. Congress. COG invites its full membership to an annual meeting each December to review the year’s accomplishments, look ahead to future challenges, elect officers, and recognize officials and partners for outstanding work. 

2018 COG Corporate Officers

Phil Mendelson

Phil Mendelson
COG President
District of Columbia


Karen R. Toles
COG Vice President
Prince George's County

Phyllis Randall

Phyllis Randall
COG Vice President
Loudoun County


Kate Stewart
COG Secretary-Treasurer
City of Takoma Park