About Us

COG Regional Awards

Throughout the year, COG celebrates the great work of area residents, organizations, and member governments—from outstanding foster parents to climate and energy leaders to businesses offering innovative commuter benefits to their employees.

At its Annual Membership Meeting and Awards Luncheon, COG brings together many of the region's public, private, and nonprofit leaders to present its three highest honors—the Scull, Kirby, and Partnership awards.

Elizabeth and David Scull Metropolitan Public Service Award

The Scull Award is presented annually to a local, state, or federal elected official for outstanding service to the region. It is named after two Montgomery County Councilmembers, who were strong supporters of COG and regional cooperation. 

Ronald F. Kirby Award for Collaborative Leadership

The Kirby Award is presented in the memory of Ron Kirby, COG’s Director of Transportation Planning from 1987 to 2013. The award recognizes non-elected government executives, who work collaboratively with elected officials, stakeholders, and their communities to shape a better region.

Regional Partnership Award

The Partnership Award is presented to organizations or individuals who have worked with COG to improve the quality of life for area residents.

Elizabeth and David Scull Metropolitan Public Service Award
Year(s) Award Winner Jurisdiction
1982 Ellen M. Bozman Arlington County
1983 James M. Scott Fairfax County
1984 Jerry A. Moore District of Columbia
1985 Polly Shackleton District of Columbia
1986 William Amonett Prince George’s County
1987 Neal Potter Montgomery County
1988 James P. Moran, Jr. City of Alexandria
1989 Joseph Isaacs City of Greenbelt
1990 Michael Gudis Montgomery County
1991 Parris N. Glendening Prince George’s County
1992 Albert C. Eisenberg Arlington County
1993 Bruce Adams Montgomery County
1994 Stephen DelGuiudice Prince George’s County
1995 Patricia Ticer City of Alexandria
1996 Gerald Hyland Fairfax County
1997 John Mason City of Fairfax
1998 William E. Hanna, Jr. Montgomery County
1999 M.H. Jim Estepp Prince George’s County
1999 Katherine K. Hanley Fairfax County
2000 Gerald E. Connolly Fairfax County
2000 Charlene Drew Jarvis District of Columbia
2001 Carol Schwartz District of Columbia
2001 Douglas M. Duncan Montgomery County
2002 Kerry J. Donley City of Alexandria
2003 Mary K. Hill Prince William County
2003 Penelope A. Gross Fairfax County
2004 Bruce R. Williams Takoma Park
2005 Phil Mendelson District of Columbia
2006 Anthony Williams District of Columbia
2007 Jay Fisette Arlington County
2008 Ben Cardin U.S. Senate
2008 Tom Davis U.S. House of Representatives
2009 Sharon Bulova Fairfax County
2010 David Snyder Falls Church
2011 Judith "J" Davis Greenbelt
2012 Catherine Hudgins Fairfax County
2013 Mary Hynes Arlington County
2014 Todd Turner Prince George's County
2015 Scott York Loudoun County
2016 Roger Berliner Montgomery County
2017 Bridget Donnell Newton City of Rockville
Ronald F. Kirby Award for Collaborative Leadership
Year(s) Award Winner Jurisdiction
2014 Anthony Griffin Fairfax County
2015 Marc Bashoor Prince George's County
2016 Chris Geldart District of Columbia
2016 James Schwartz Arlington County
2017 George Hawkins DC Water
Regional Partnership Award
Year(s) Award Winner
1989 Giant
1990 Northern Virginia Building Industry Assoc.
1991 IBM
1992 Freddie Mac
1992 Wider Brodsky Sidman Kider
1993 Wilkes, Artis, Hendrick and Lane
1994 Steel Recycling Institute
1995 Eugene and Agnes E. Meyer Foundation
1996 Radio Shack
1997 Washington Area Automobile Dealers Assoc.
1998 Pepco
1999 Ritz Carlton Hotel
1999 International Monetary Fund
2000 Clear Channel Communications (media award)
2001 John Tydings, Greater Washington Board of Trade
2001 District of Columbia Cable Television (media award)
2002 Robert A. Malson, D.C. Hospital Association
2003 Maxine Baker, Freddie Mac Foundation
2004 Stargazer Foundation
2005 Washington District Council Urban Land Institute
2006 Washington Area Bicyclist Association
2007 Alice Ferguson Foundation
2008 Northern Virginia Regional Commission
2009 National Capital Planning Commission
2010 Washington Regional Association of Grantmakers
2011 Joan Brady Photography
2012 John Berry, U.S. Office of Personnel Management
2013 Terri Freeman, Community Foundation for the National Capital Region
2014 Linda Howard, Summit Fund of Washington
2015 Baltimore Metropolitan Council
2016 Tony Costa, GSA FedScape
2017 Coalition for Smarter Growth