News Highlight

COG Chair Appoints Final Members to Metro Governance Task Force

Jun 10, 2010

At its meeting on June 9, the COG Board of Directors authorized COG Chair and District of Columbia Councilmember Kwame Brown to appoint three additional representatives to a COG-Board of Trade task force that will review the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Agency's governance structure.  The COG Board wanted current area officials to be included in the review so that members of the public and stakeholder groups would have points of contact about the process.   

Today, Chair Brown appointed Prince George's County Council Vice Chair Andrea Harrison, Fairfax County Board of Supervisors Vice Chair Penelope Gross, and himself to join the group. 

In May, the COG Board voted to join the Greater Washington Board of Trade in an independent governance review of WMATA and authorized COG's Executive Director David Robertson to select volunteers to the task force.  Mr. Robertson invited seven former elected and appointed officials to provide a public sector perspective to the task force.

The first meeting of the COG-BOT task force is Friday, June 11, 2010 at 8:30 a.m.  For information on the task force, please contact COG Executive Director David Robertson at 202-962-3249 or

Task Force Roster

Appointed by BOT

Michael Daniels
Senior Vice President
Science Application International Corporation

James Dyke
McGuireWoods LLP

Pat McGuire
Trinity Washington University

Tony Pierce
Managing Partner
Akin Gump Strauss Hauler & Feld LLLP

Manny Rouvelas
K&L Gates

Stu Solomon
Managing Director, Metro Washington Office

Scott Wilfong
Chairman, President & CEO
Greater Washington/Maryland SuntTrust Bank

Jim Dinegar
Greater Washington Board of Trade
Task Force Co-Manager

Appointed by COG

Hon. Kwame Brown
District of Columbia
Chairman, COG Board of Directors

Ron Carlee
Director, Domestic Strategic Initiatives
International City/County Management Assoc.
County Manager
Arlington County

Hon. Penelope Gross
Vice Chair, Board of Supervisors
Fairfax County
Past Chairman, COG Board of Directors

Hon. Andrea Harrison
Council Vice Chair
Prince George's County
Vice Chairman, COG Board of Directors

JayEtta Hecker
Director of Transportation Advocacy
Bipartisan Policy Center
Former Director of Physical Infrastructure
U.S. General Accountability Office

Hon. Betty Ann Kane
DC Public Services Commission
Former Councilmember
District of Columbia

Hon. John Mason
Former Mayor
City of Fairfax

Hon. Connie Morella
Ambassador in Residence
American University School of Public Affairs
Former Representative, 8th District, Maryland
U.S. House of Representatives

Bruce Romer
Vice President, Administration
Westat, Inc.
Former Chief Administrative Officer
Montgomery County

Hon. Peter Shapiro
Executive Director
Chesapeake Center for Public Leadership
Former Councilmember
Prince George's County

Hon. Anthony Williams
Executive Director
Corporate Executive Board
Former Mayor
District of Columbia

David Robertson
Executive Director
Metro. Wash. Council of Governments
Task Force Co-Manager     



Back to news

Related News

  • News

    Metrorail Safety Commission names David L. Mayer CEO

    April 24, 2018

    The Metrorail Safety Commission (MSC) unanimously approved David L. Mayer, Ph.D. as the Chief Executive Officer of the new, independent safety body, effective...

  • News

    COG's Steve Walz talks infrastructure on Kojo Nnamdi Show

    March 22, 2018

    COG Environmental Programs Director Steve Walz was a guest on The Kojo Nnamdi Show on WAMU where he discussed the state of the region's infrastructure.